The OrthoCarolina Research Advisory Committee (RAC) provides the day to day oversight, assistance, and guidance necessary to maintain research and educational activities consistent with the Institute’s mission.

RAC meets bi-monthly to evaluate and approve/reject submitted research proposals based on scientific merit, suitability, and/or the impact on research support services at the Institute. Working with OCRI’s administrative staff, RAC establishes annual research and funding priorities, assesses research staffing and space utilization, oversees regulatory issues and ethics, and approves research policies and procedures.

Research Advisory Committee Members

Name Field
Bruce Darden, MD, Chairman OrthoCarolina Spine Center
Virginia F. Casey, MD OrthoCarolina Pediatric Center
Brian Curtin, MD OrthoCarolina Hip & Knee Center
J. Kent Ellington, MD OrthoCarolina Foot & Ankle Institute
R. Glenn Gaston, MD OrthoCarolina Hand Center
Nady Hamid, MD OrthoCarolina Sports Medicine Center
Todd Irwin, MD OrthoCarolina Foot & Ankle Institute
Bryan Loeffler, MD OrthoCarolina Hand Center
P. Bradley Segebarth, MD OrthoCarolina Spine Center
Bryan D. Springer, MD OrthoCarolina Hip & Knee Center
Joshua Patt, MD Orthopedic Surgeon, Atrium Health
Rachel Seymour, PhD Orthopedic Clinical Research, Atrium Health
Christi Cadd, MBA OCRI Executive Director
William L. Griffin, MD, Chairman Board of Directors non-voting RAC member